Dealing with a speeding ticket without an attorney can result in points on your license. In Virginia, drivers who speed over 10 to 19 mph over the posted speed limit can face a four-point penalty, and for speeding violations of 19 mph or more over the posted speed limit, you can face up to a six point penalty.
In Virginia, if you accumulate too many points in 12 months, the state can suspend your license. In addition, if you incur 18 or more points in a 24-month time span, the DMV can suspend your license. The process for getting your license back can take months or longer.
However, a speeding or reckless driving ticket attorney can appear in court on your behalf and negotiate with the prosecutor or ask the judge to reduce or dismiss your charge, resulting in fewer points or no points at all.