When you visit the beautiful state of Virginia, you might notice a sign reading, “Virginia is for Lovers.” However, Virginia is NOT for lovers of high-speed driving! In fact, driving at a speed that would considered just a speeding ticket in many states is considered a criminal misdemeanor in Virginia.
At BernsteinHough P.C., we often receive legal questions regarding reckless driving and how it impacts out of state drivers. We feel it’s important for out of state travelers to understand our state laws and what to do if you are charged with reckless driving while passing through.
What Does Reckless Driving Entail?
In Virginia, a summons for reckless driving can be issued for any of the following offense:
- Speeding 20mph above the speed limit
- Speeding above 80mph regardless of the speed limit
- Racing your vehicle
- Passing a school bus
- Passing an emergency vehicle
- Passing 2 vehicles abreast
- Passing at a hill crest
- Driving faster than road conditions allow
- Passing at a railroad crossing
- Brakes not working properly
- Failing to signal
- Driving in such a manner as to endanger life, limb, or property (including your own)
Reckless driving is considered a criminal offense and is punishable by / can result in:
- A criminal record
- Up to 1-year in jail
- A monetary fine of as much as $2,500
- Potential points on your license
- Higher insurance premium rates
- Loss of security clearance
- Up to a 6-month suspension of your privilege to drive in Virginia
- Loss of job if clean criminal or driving record is required
- Potential disciplinary action for active military members
When you are pulled over by a police officer for reckless driving, comply with the officer and contact a lawyer immediately following the interaction.
The question remains, does a reckless driving charge impact your life in your home state? Absolutely. Here are some of the ways:
How Reckless Driving Affects License Suspension
Virginia Judges do not have the authority to suspend an out-of-state license. The courts in Virginia can suspend your privilege to drive within Virginia. Furthermore, if your state is a participant of the Interstate Driver’s License Compact, your home state may honor the Virginia suspension locally.
How Your Virginia Reckless Driving Charge Affects Your Driving Record in Your Home State
If convicted of Reckless Driving in Virginia, the Virginia DMV will impose -6 points on your license for eleven (11) years. Each state has its own license point system. You should consult an attorney at BernsteinHough, P.C., to discuss about how a Reckless Driving conviction will affect your local record
When Should I Get a Lawyer?
If you’ve been charged with reckless driving, it’s important to obtain the services of a lawyer as soon as possible, The earlier you seek legal counsel, the more likely your lawyer can help.
Contact BernsteinHough P.C. For Legal Help
If you’ve been charged with reckless driving, or you’re interested in learning more about your rights as a driver, we can help. BernsteinHough P.C. handles all types of criminal cases, including traffic misdemeanors. With years of experience and a strong knowledge of Virginia’s road rules, our firm may be able to help reduce sentencing, minimize points lost on your license, and more.
For more information on our services, we invite you to contact BernsteinHough, P.C today to get professional legal advice about your case.